Main Menu

How to delete everything Google knows about you

It knows you better than you know yourself. It knows every smartphone you’ve thought about buying, every coworker you’ve tried to find dirt on, every embarrassing ailment you’ve suffered…

It’s your Google Activity (formerly known as Google Web & App History), and it knows everything you’ve searched for… dating back to 2005. Yikes!

This post will teach you how to permanently delete your Google history to enhance your internet privacy and prevent your search and browsing data from following you around forever.

Note: Clearing your browser history is NOT the same as clearing your Google Web & App Activity history. When you clear your browser history, you’re only deleting the history that’s locally stored on your computer. Clearing your browser history doesn’t do anything to the data stored on Google’s servers.

Warning: If you use G Suite (formerly Google Apps for Work), it is vital that you find out your company’s acceptable use and data retention policies before you delete anything!

 

How to: 

Download all your Google data

 Delete allyour Google activity

 Stop (or “pause”) Google from saving your activity

Know the consequences of deleting & disabling your Google search history

Deleting and disabling your history does NOT make you invisible to Google

Do more to protect your internet privacy

 

.

Read more

 

.